To All Those On The Fence

I was previously a Dreamhost customer. After some of the network issues (and my wife complaining that her business site was too slow using Zencart/MySQL), I was swayed by the press out there on the internet that Dreamhost was somehow a poor provider, since they had gotten too big. So I moved to another provider, and I moved my wife’s hosting too.

I however moved back recently (within 30 days), as I was shocked to see how limited their cPanel implementation was, and how much I missed the shell access.

You see, I’m a network admin by trade, and love me a little command line action once in a while. I also like the effortless spamassassin configuration.

Honestly, it’s a little (teensy?) bit slower. But my site on Dreamhost is not mission critical. I can live with the fact MySQL queries take a teensy bit more time than my old provider. What I like is the flexibility Dreamhost affords me, and the great service I’ve received. When switching back, my email support response time was very quick (less than 1/2 hour in most cases) and since I was within the 30 days of cancellation, all my settings were waiting for me when I returned.

So to all those on the fence, make your decision to host with Dreamhost. They have lots of great features, good support, and I’m happy to be back with them.

Signed,
A Happy Dreamhost-Glad-To-Be-Back-Customer:
aka Thinkdreams

Well done.
That is a very decent thing, to say something like that, rather than just stay quiet.
You will be further impressed by the updates recently made I bet. :slight_smile:

Norm

Opinions are my own views, not DreamHosts’.
I am NOT a DreamHost employee OK!! :@

You act on my advice at your own risk!

I agree, I much prefer the DreamHost panel over cPanel.

At first, there can be a bit of culture shock for those coming from a cPanel host, but the functionality offered by the DreamHost panel is superb, with more features being added all the time.