Time for DNS Propogation

This is my first time using a proper web host with a proper domain. It’s been about 7 days since I received my various automated mails with my registration confirmation and ftp access information.

So far my domain, slashproofproductions.com, comes up not found. http://www.whatsmydns.net/ returns all X’s. It is coming up as registered when I whois it however.

As far as FTP goes, I can log in using the jasper.dreamhost.com address but not slashproofproductions.com. I’ve tried both a standalone FTP client and through the webFTP in the control panel with the same results. The domain name folder and default quickstart.html landing page are there but I can’t seem to get to them outside of viewing/dl’ing via FTP.

Not sure if there’s something I’m simply missing, I’m being a bit impatient, or if there’s an actual configuration issue I need to contact support about.

If anyone can point me in the right direction, I’d appreciate it.

Go to manage domains in the panel, make sure the listing for that says “Fully Hosted” in the “web hosting” column of the “Manage Domains” page in the panel. then click the “Edit” button right under that. On the next page just click the save changes button (you don’t actually have to make a change).

then go back to “manage domains” page and click the DNS link under the domain name. On the next page there will be a “go” button to refresh the DNS that domain.

DNS propagation usually goes pretty quick for brand new domain, but updates take a little longer, usually 12-24 hours, but maybe longer worldwide. Yours appears it will be a change because the name does resolve in DNS it just doesn’t point anywhere.

Using dreamhosts nameservers your domain is resolving with an A record on ns2.dreamhost.com only.

I did that for you just now. Whois shows the correct info, so I kicked it for you.

Thank you both.

I’ll give it a day or so and see if things resolve.