Thottled Bandwidth?

Hi, I’m new to all this so I’m hoping someone can fill me in.

Dreamhost has been recommended to me as a possible host for my record labels website. At the moment I’ve got a domain registered and the site itself is being put together by a friend. Although I know virtually nothing about hosting and the specs, the deals Dreamhost have going seems to be great, as backed up by the recommendations I spoke of!

But… someone did mention to me that DH might not be suitable for a business like mine because of ‘throttled bandwidth’. More specifically, my site will need to include previews of upcoming releases as well as a number of DJ mixes in 192kbps MP3 format, each about an hour long.

Can some explain to me how throttled bandwidth might effect the above please? Is it really an issue I need to consider? Or would it actually be something that shouldn’t cause me any trouble?

Thanks

Mike

Throttling can be set by YOU on your domain name. This is so that your site would get shut down if you reach a certain amount of bandwidth usage (so that you don’t get charged a leg for going over). It would automatically go back up the next billing cycle. This way you could set up two domains and use one for just information in case the other one where you are serving the files reaches it’s limit.

If you know you are going to be using massive gobs of bandwidth, choose a plan that is more suited to it.

Additionally,
http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/KB_/Account_Control_Panel/Status::_Bandwidth

The Insane Cabbit
My Blog http://www.sounanda.com
My web store:
http://www.marciesgifts.com
Send me a pm if you want cms or forum software installed (for a fee)

It’s not clear to me what type of “throttling” you’re talking about. As mentioned, you can setup the domain so that if you go over your bandwidth for the month, the site switches to another that you setup.