The thread where I display my n00bness

I am totally new to this whole “owning a website” thing, so please bear with me and try not to mock my ignorance too much.

My first question: I have purchased my domain name, and I received an email saying it was created, but when I try to access the URL all I get is a page saying it doesn’t exist. Now, granted, I haven’t done anything with it yet, but shouldn’t it still have some sort of placeholder graphic?

Second, I have tried sending test emails to my new domain email address, but they all get return undeliverable. I’ve also tried accessing the webmail from the site here, but I get an error.

Third, I’ve installed Wordpress to a database, but when I try to access the links I received in an email once that was done, I again get errors.

So, should I wait a day? Is it not ready yet? Is something else going on? Am I too stupid for even be attempting this? Please let me know what you think, and thanks.

• Justin

If you’ve just purchased a domain name you should wait a day or two before you start using it. You can use a dreamhosters.com subdomain and set it to mirror your domain so you can still view your site.

Save $97 on all yearly plans with the promo code [color=#CC0000]DREAMZAP[/color] – zaps the monthly plans too!

Hi Justin and welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

Yep. Basically, it takes a little while for the DNS information for your domain to propagate across the Internet, during this period your domain will be either not accessible, or intermittently accessible.

The time it takes for the DNS information to propagate can vary quite a bit, but usually things will be fine after a day or so.

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )