The Dreamhost Wayback Machine

I just noticed an interesting “feature” here. The .snapshot directories are apparently accessible from the web. As an example, my homepage from a week ago is here:

http://www.askew.net/.snapshot/weekly.1/index.htm

I could see this as a problem if, say, you fixed a security bug in a php page. The old page w/ the faulty code would remain accessible for up to two weeks. The same would go for changes to .htaccess.

Speaking of .htaccess, could that provide a mechanism to block access to the .snapshot path? I’m not an apache expert, but maybe someone else knows: Can .htaccess block traversal? IOW, assuming htaccess will do the job, can I simply modify the one in my root, or would I need to put one in all subdirs (and wait for two weeks for it to propagate to all .snapshot dirs)?

Hmmm. I think it would be better if the snapshot directories were moved out of the world-accessible space completely. I’d prefer to see a path like:/home/username/snapshots/domain.com/.snapshot/weekly.1/si-blog
Max discount on any plan with promocode SCJESSEYTOTAL

Dammit, never tried that. It’s definitely something we don’t need.

I thought scjessey was our .htaccess wizard. Maybe someone can whip something up that’ll block the snapshot directories.

It’d be even nicer if DreamHost found a way to block this in the apache config file.

-Scott

This works (sends back a 403 to the client) if placed in the .htaccess:

RewriteEngine On RewriteRule \.snapshot/?.+$ - [F]

I’m not an mod_rewrite expert … feel free to correct me.

Jan

Promo-Code: [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY97[/color] - Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on your first year of hosting.
Get more promo codes here

Improved version, also blocks access to /subdirectory/.snapshot:

RewriteEngine On RewriteRule .*\.snapshot/?.+$ - [F]

Jan

Promo-Code: [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY97[/color] - Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on your first year of hosting.

Excellent - I’ll add that in my .htaccess.