Actually, temporary suspensions aren't a problem at all. Whatever portion of your payment is unused is simply applied to your account as a positive credit. When you re-open your account, it begins to be used again.
Note that there are a couple of caveats to this:
Domain registration. There's no way to 'suspend' a domain registration, so it's possible that the domain may expire at the end of its term depending on how soon the person plans on re-enabling the plan. To prevent that, they would need to set the domain registration up as its own service (Support can do that upon request).
Content. After a certain length of time (this varies depending on a number of variables relating to disk space - usually from a few weeks to a couple of months), any content stored under your account will be deleted. Your account information will remain, but email/site content/etc. will be wiped. For that reason, we recommend backing up all of your content prior to closing the plan, as it may not be there when you get back. Once you re-open things, just re-upload your data and you should be all good.
Jeff @ DreamHost
- DH Discussion Forum Admin