Taking over from my Designer...PLZ Help

Ok, I am completely new to all aspects of dreamhost. I have worked with Go Daddy.
Sorry for the ignorance…

Is there a common file that you web text is stored? I know that index.php is generally your basic text file however, I have looked at all of them and I can’t find my text!!! I need to modify the text and update a picture or two.

I am using the dreamhost webftp. Can someone please help me??? I thank you very much for your help…

Your files are located at /home/YOURUSERNAME/YOURDOMAIN/

I’m not sure whether your site is a static page or built on CMS. If it is built on CMS and you never heard about it, mostly likely you will get lost. Most of your text are located in templates files. Some of your text are even stored in a database.

Start from the right directory and see what you can best do. If you are lost, I’ll suggest you to find a developer to help you out.

Ok… I have found out it was built in joomla. Does that help?

Do you have the admin credentials? You’d log into something like: yourdomain.com/administrator to get to the back-end cpanel, the articles, modules and components that make up your site.

Your actual content is stored in a database that is separate from the files that show up under your domain (where you FTP). If you can get into your Dreamhost panel you can get the database credentials. They are also in the config.php file that’s with the other files. Your designer should have given you admin info. (If they didn’t, look up “joomla lost admin password” and you should find some links that should help you get back into your site.)

Go to joomla.org for info about using it to run your website.