Subdomain FAQ?

Hi… I am very new to this. Where can I go about finding out info on Dreamhost about what fully hosted/ mirror etc relating to subdomains?

I have a domain, got it free with dreamhost 2 yr package. I want a second domain and I went to godaddy… but it asks for nameservers- I have no idea what that is… and then when reading info here on Dreamhost there is information for full domains and mirrors etc and I really do not know what any of this means. I want to have 2 websites, but on the same space (I do notwant to buy another 2 year package). What is the best way to go about this?

You just need to set the nameservers at godaddy to
ns1.dreamhost.com
ns2.dreamhost.com
ns3.dreamhost.com

Make sure that you go to the domains >> add domain, add your new domain.

If you want the second domain to be an exact replica of the first domain, you can mirror. If that domain is to be different choose fully host. Also, remember that it will take up to two days for the nameservers to propogate throughout the web.

You can also, look at the kbase https://panel.dreamhost.com/kbase/index.cgi?area=2

When you say exact replica- does that mean whatever is at my other domain will be on this domain also? Like for example, if I have a site of text up on the index page of my other domain, the new domain then would have the same exact text?

Sorry- this is all so very new to me… I appreciate all your help!!

yes, it would be exact, with the exception that in your internet address bar, it could say domain1.com or domain2.com.

as an example…

I have promediatraining.com mirroring protoolstraining.com

They are the same, I upload my files only to protoolstraining, and in promediatrainings site, you see the exact same new changes.

hth

Ah I see. So I should have it be fully hosted since I want it to be an entirely new site. Out of curiosity- what would be a purpose of mirroring- like the example you provided?