I think there’s something internally at DH that can occasionally go wrong when removing old info.
It’s usually pretty quick–I’ve removed a domain, then clicked right back and added it before. But recently, I went to add a domain that I had removed months ago and it was still in there, so DH had to flush it out.
Save up to $96 at Dreamhost with ALMOST97 promo code (I get $1).
Or save $97 with THEFULL97.