Sub domain of different site, 3rd party DN

wordpress

Hi,
I’m brand new to dreamhost, so I will appreciate your help greatly.

Our company’s main website is hosted on our own server, and the DNS is conrolled by Network Solutions. For reasons beyond my controll, that server doesn’t support PHP, so we are running our company blog (using wordpress) on Dreamhost. We bought a dummy URL to access this blog–it works just great.

But what I want is to create a subdomain at my own site: blog.mysite.com which points to the dreamhost server. Once that is working, I will redirect the dummy URL to that URL.

Could you walk me through what is required to do this? Thank you so much for your help!

I had exactly the same problem recently. There is a bug in Dreamhost’s panel that doesn’t allow you to host a subdomain on your Dreamhost account if you don’t host the domain as well. Luckily you can fake that “hosting the domain” part.

This is what you need to do:

1. Change the DNS nameservers record of the subdomain (blog.mysite.com) to ns1.dreamhost.com, ns2.dreamhost.com, ns3.dreamhost.com or the corresponding IP numbers (see wiki). Some registrars require the format ns1.dreamhost.com. (with final dot)
    If you’re not allowed to set nameservers, change the A record to the IP number of your Dreamhost web server.

2. In Dreamhost webpanel/Manage Domains, add the parent domain (mysite.com) as “fully hosted”. This will have no effect as you didn’t point the DNS record for mysite.com to Dreamhost. It’s just to trick the panel into accepting the subdomain.

3. Now add the subdomain (blog.mysite.com) as “fully hosted”. (Be aware of the options - for example I like to keep some control over my sites, so I always disable all Google stuff. If your subdomain is on Rails, enable Passenger but be aware that it breaks mod_rewrite)