SSH login Security question

As I’m relatively new to using SSH, I have a question about how passwords are transmitted through the logging in process.

Specifically, using Terminal in OS X 10.3, when I issue the command:

ssh user1@domain1.com

I am prompted for a password for user1, which if entered correctly, appears to log me in to the requested account with a secure shell.

My question is: When does the connection become secure? When the initial SSH command is issued, OR only AFTER the password is submitted?

What I’m getting at here, is whether the password is being sent ‘in the clear’.

Could someone in the know please explain how this works on the DH servers? Thanks.

Also, on a related note, is is possible to turn off FTP and Telnet services (for security reasons) and leave just SSH on?

Cheers,

Jem

P.S. I’ve tried setting up a DSA private/public key pair for use with SSH on DH, and it works fine (no need to enter a password to login in), however programs like MacSFTP seem to still want to request the user password.

ssh doesn’t do anything in the clear; the password is also sent encrypted.

ps - for those using DSA or RSA ssh key authentication with Mac OS X, I highly recommend sshkeychain - http://www.sshkeychain.org/ - a lot of us over here are using it now. Basically, this is a really slick and easy to setup front-end for ssh-agent, so that you can cache the passphrase for your DSA or RSA key.

You can set it to timeout after the screensaver activates, after the system sleeps, etc., and you can even save your passphrase in your OS X keychain if you want.

Will,

Thanks for your response, and the tip about sshkeychain. I’ll give it a look.