SquirrelMail Installation

apps

Hi forum members,

I’m very new to web development. Actually, I’m completely new. I’ve just set up my first site rossromeo.com which is a very simple wordpress site with one of the free themes that come with it by default. Apart from adding a few pages and changing the default home page, the only customizations I have made are adding a couple of plugins: a contact form and multilingual functionality. As you can see, nothing beyond the most absolute beginner level.

I decided to host my own SquirrelMail because I need one of the plugins, specifically the one that enables HTML editing, and I can’t install any on the version that is installed directly on wordpress. My site is for my business as a translator, and as a language professional I figure that having well formatted and nicely presented emails is essential.

Up to the moment I have managed to download SquirrelMail onto my computer and create the subdomain nutmail.rossromeo.com. Then, through the manage users section I accessed my folders using Pydio and created two folders, data and attach. Then, through the GUI, not using any command line, I changed both folders permissions to 730 (it was set at 0757 before. I don’t know if I should have set it at 0730 instead of 730, but since the tutorial said 730 that’s what I did).

Now the next step should be to unzip the SquirrelMail files and upload them to my nutmail.rossmeo.com domain (I think. The tutorial isn’t very clear, it just says upload to the folder you just created, but I created several different ones… If it’s not nutmail.rossromeo.com please let me know).