Sorry- very new

I’m brand new to this. My website is under my friend’s account, and he set up a very provisional webpage for me, using high-tech programming codes and such. He told me there’s not a way to design it myself and have editing ability, but I think that’s not true? Another friend is hosted on another site and he’s able to make his own web page design and change it whenever he likes. I need to know how to do this, and really from the most incredibly basic instruction. Once I get into the design mode, I’m probably good, but anything having to do with the web I’m totally green.

Thanks for help.

Your friend is, indeed, lying to you. With a cms (content management system) you can get your website up and running with minimal effort and the ability to have dynamic content. It only takes a little more know-how to install custom themes for most of them you have either downloaded for free or paid for (I’ve never paid for a theme EVAR). If you have an account here you can go to the one-click installs and install wordpress. Its very easy to learn and there are many free themes available from http://wordpress.org/extend/themes/ but I do believe you can import themes directly from the admin interface in wordpress. Now wordpress is excellent for a blog type site but you can use it for different types of websites too. There is also concrete5 available from the one-clicks but since you are a total newbie go with wordpress :slight_smile:

While you are playing around with wordpress you may want to google some html basic tutorials. Its always good to learn the lingo of the web. You can get into other stuff like css (cascading style sheets), php, ajax, etc but start with basic html first and css next. Once you have wrapped your head around those two things editing themes and making your own will be a LOT easier (its impossible without the knowledge of them).