Soo confused about where to upload my website files

I am brand new to dreamhost, making websites and hosting and I’m soo confused about where to put my files. I also don’t know how to access the files I upload without using my FTP transfer thingy. (I’m using Fetch). Everytime I want to see what files I have uploaded and where they are I tell the Fetch program to go to the recent connection and there are my files. I’m sure I should be able to find them in the dreamhost panel but I can’t figure it out.

The meat of my question is this: I made a single page website using Dreamweaver and I’m trying to upload those files to dreamhost.
When I connect to my account with Fetch I assume I am in the home directory and in this directory I see a bunch of files (and I don’t know what they mean) and some folders where I think I am supposed to upload my files
The files I see are: .alias / .bash_profile / .bashrc / .cshrc
The folders are: dh / logs / maildir / “mysitename”.com

I think the website files should go in the “mysitename”.com folder and I put them there but it didnt work. I still get an index page and not the website. The confusing thing is that when I try to go to my website and I get the index page there are three files on the index page and these files seem to exist in the dh folder inside my home directory. So should I put my website files in that dh folder or should they go in the “mysitename”.com folder?

I have two domains on my account and one has a wordpress site on it and I am wondering if this “dh” folder is something my friend added when he made the wordpress site and I can delete it from this site or if I shouldn’t delete it or if I should add my website files to this “dh” folder.