Sites hacked

Several of my sites have been hacked, with an injection of base 64-encoded php that redirects incoming search traffic.

Don’t know how this got in, maybe an out-of-date wordpress installation, or maybe the recent hack? Anyway.

I’m going about restoring things, but I had a few questions, and would appreciate any feedback, as I’m not an expert on some of this stuff.

1. My plan is to delete everything from dreamhost’s servers, and rebuild from backups that I’m sure are clean of any malware – so far I’ve only found suspicious code in php files. Should I be looking anywhere else?

2. I am trying to access my log files, but the permissions seem to have been changed to 755, and I can’t open them… how can I open & backup these files?

3. I created a new ftp/shell user earlier today for all sites, but when I try and log into via ssh, I keep getting booted. Could this be related, or am I doing something wrong? Have checked and doublechecked username and pw – can log in via ftp but not the shell. (Using coda on OS X.)

Needless to say, this sucks I have 4 businesses websites that are effectively down, and I’m trying to get this sorted ASAP…

Any help would be greatly appreciated…

Thanks!

Hi mate, i had a similar problem. All you will get is referred to a wiki help page.

But after trialing numerous “cleaner” scripts to remove the encoding. I finally got one to work. It takes about 15 mins for each website (depending on size, mind were relatively small) and dont worry it looks like nothings happening but you know its finished when it lists all the files its searched and fixed. You upload it to your .com folder then put it into the browers bar with the filename at the end and hit enter. I’ve uploaded it:
http://www.mediafire.com/?57g26da1ez83nv2

Im not trying to spam you, i had the same problem just a few posts down.

Although, that cleans out the code, ive still not found out how to tighten up my security. Let me know how you get on!