Sites are up and down all day

Hi, I’m new to dreamhost. I really want to like them, they seem like good people and provide superior site control from their panel. Unfortunately since I signed up a few weeks ago my sites are constantly up and down. I haven’t been able to rely on anything being up which is embarassing when you have people trying to connect. I don’t think there has been one day when I had 100% uptime. My previous host was also discount (Big Name - same price if not cheaper) however their cpanel was poor, which is why I decided to switch. In over 2 years I never noticed an outage with my previous host. I am sure they happened but NOTHING like what I have been experiencing here. Is this always the case with dreamhost? Have they overstepped their capabilities recently? Are there any long or short time users out there who have similar or disimilar experiences? Am I just unlucky? Do people expect their sites to be down 40-50% of the time because of the price and options they give you? I’m not trying to be a jerk, I know some people love DH but…

Oh, I am on lenny if anyone cares.

Some people love them some hate them. Unfortunately on this board you mostly get those that hate them because people with no issues have no reason to post in here.

Me? I love them.

Ive been here for 2 years. I get affected by the network-wide issues and this isnt a problem for me. I understand that computer systems and networks go wrong from time to time and the faults are not directly caused by the staff. The Cisco switch issue was really obscure and imo it was responded to in a timely manner.