Site security, hacking & penetration testing

Afternoon all,

I’d like to gather opinion/knowledge about the “hardness” of the average DH shared server site to hacking or penetration, plus ideas as to how to test and what to do to harden the site.

I know it’s a big topic area but I don’t see it covered elsewhere in the forum.

It is also good site housekeeping but I’ve been kicked into action now as a number of my fellow users of one of the genealogy tools I run (TNG) have been getting “ethically” hacked, so we know there’s a hole but we don’t know where it is or how to find it :frowning:

I’ve been looking at tools found by googling but whilst I have pen test experience as a project manager I don’t have much “hands on”.

Regards, Mike

I’ve never heard of a hack that came through a hole in DreamHost. It’s always been due to a hacked password, or vulnerable software that a user installed. Are you already running TNG here?

What do you mean “ethically” hacked? If someone’s hacked it, yet not told you how, that doesn’t sound ethical. I don’t see any forums on the TNG site. Does the author know there’s a vulnerability? The site mentions stronger protection against attacks.

Running PHP5 is a step in the right direction for security, as it has some weak features disabled. Doing a security audit of a site is quite an endeavor if you’re looking for an undocumented vulnerability.

-Scott

Hi Scott,

My TNG instance hasn’t been hacked, although I also suspect it hasn’t been targetted either as I had previously altered the search string we think the hackers have been using to find sites. It’s in user test at www.maughan.ie/genealogy and is set to only allow registered users access. This version of TNG (7.x) has been pretty good so far at keeping out the mongol hordes, hence some of our concerns at this particular hackfest.