Site Publishing

What’s the typical lag time between uploading the web site via FTP and having the ability to actually see it on the Internet?

Instant
Silk

My website

It should be instantaneous, unless your ISP is caching (don’t forget to “refresh” your own browser) once DNS is updated.

If you are waiting for a “new” domain name to be reachable via DNS, than anywhere from a few minutes up to 72 hours or so, and it will differ from place to place, for various routes, etc. That is normal, and is just the process of DNS updating. :wink:

–rlparker

I used XSP to upload-they have an FTP built in utility. I can see the files when I click on WebFTP in the “Manage Domains” section. But when I try to upload them into the proper directory with net2ftp, I’m having no luck. And the directions are less than clear on the help guide.
Another issue seems to be that the home page–***.com/index.html wasn’t uploaded–I don’t see it on the list anywhere.

I have no experience with XSP, so I can shed no light on what issues may or may not be involved with that for uploading purposes.

I suggest you investigate using a stand-alone ftp or sftp client to manipulate your uploads; you 'll not only benefit from better general performance, but have better and more accessible help available.

You might find the FTP section of the DH Wiki to be helpful. :wink:

–rlparker

where do the files reside when you use WebFTP? Are they inside “yourdomain.com” folder?

Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] (max discount) with [color=#CC0000]97CRAZY[/color] Save [color=#CC0000]$82[/color] get lifetime domain with [color=#CC0000]82CRAZY[/color] Sign Up NOW

Actually, the issue I’m having is within Dreamhost. The files seem to be there when I click on the WebFTP link in the Manage Domains section. I just can’t decipher the net2ftp instructions enough to figure out how to get all the files into the proper place(s). Under the root directory and so forth. The FTP part seems to have worked.