Shopsite install

apps

Hello!

I’m relatively new to DH (my bandwidth has only grown by 128GB and I’m still new enough to get a kick out of “only 128GB of growth”), and I have a client who is looking to use Shopsite (http://shopsite.com) as the shopping cart software of choice on a website that we’re building. A search through the history of the board yields up one Shopsite-related thread, but with no real followup. I assume and hope that this person ended up having no trouble with the install. I, myself, am just starting this install process.

I’ve noted a few things, and maybe there are answers or solutions, and maybe that’s just the way things are here. I’ll appreciate any thoughts, opinions or answers you have to these things, as you have them. Maybe this thread will be found by someone Googling for “Shopsite on Dreamhost” and the notes will convince them that this is a good place to be. Then again, maybe my posts will get more and more hysterical in tone and crazier as I try and try and fail to get Shopsite installed and it’ll push them away, too. I hope it’s A.

Anyway.

Shopsite needs access to a /data directory that’s outside the web-accessible directory. I’m putting it under /data (and not under /website.com/data) hoping that it’ll work from there. There’s some mail directory stuff in my root directory, so I’m counting on that to work.

Shopsite also expects a cgi-bin directory, which I see that DH doesn’t use. I’m going to use the provided directory structure in the install .zip that I got from the Shopsite people and hope that works.

At this point, I’m just going to ask if anyone has installed Shopsite successfully here and if there’s anything I should look out for.

Thanks!

Sounds like you have a decent handle on things.