Shopping around for a new webhost

Hello!

I am writing to inquire further details about DreamHost’s web hosting package.

I am currently hosting 5 forums (MyBB and phpBB), a wiki (MediaWiki) and a website at Globat.com. Globat has proven to be a terrible host.

I’m looking for a package that will give me unlimited space and bandwidth, unlimited domain hosting, unlimited databases, SSL for my websites and forums, protection against DDoS attacks, and excellent uptime.

I am not an advanced user, and will need quite a bit of tech support. I will need help to migrate everything from my current host (1660.36 MB). I have 57 MySQL databases in the account that will need to get moved over too. (My problem here is that many years ago, before I started getting the hang of being a webmaster, I started installing a bunch of things and then deleted the folders instead of uninstalling them… so now I have a rat nest of databases and I don’t know which ones are the ones I am using and which ones I can archive or delete).

I’m used to using cPanel, generally.

If I were to sign up for services here, what would be the best package for my needs?

thanks for evaluating DreamHost, I’ll try to give you an answer :slight_smile:

One thing I noticed in your request is that you don’t say how much traffic your sites use, and what your current package is providing: are you using a VPS now or a shared hosting account?

If your sites don’t have much traffic, you may be able to run all that on a Shared hosting plan and see if that’s enough… If not, you can grow to a VPS or dedicated, eventually. You may want to start by migrating one of your services at the time, to make sure the Shared hosting plan is a good fit.

You’ll get free SSL certificates with all DreamHost domains, and you can add CloudFlare basic DDoS protection to your sites, too. See https://www.dreamhost.com/partners/cloudflare/