Setting up fields

Hey everyone. I’m very new at web developing and I have a question, which may seem very basic to everyone, so sorry if it is a waste of your time. Anyway, I am trying to create fields on my page. By that I mean if a person wants to for example enter in their name, address, age, sex, etc… info I’d like them to enter it into a writing field.

I currently use dreamweaver 2004 and am experimenting a bit with the insert form command. But I have no luck with a submit button. I’m also lost on what happens when someone submits an entry. Does it go to a database somewhere or does all the information get emailed to me?

Thanks alot if you can answer this question.

All questions are good questions. Except when they are bad questions, like “Does anyone know where I can buy Dallas Cowboys merchandise?”

Okay. You need to use a form to collect the information. When the user hits the “submit” button, that information is then sent to a page specified within the action attribute of the form. The form can be sent to itself, or sent to a completely different page (which is usually more useful).

The receiving page will then have access to this information, which you must process in some way. There are many different things you can do with it, including (but not limited to) storing the information in a database or sending it to yourself in an email. What exactly do you want to do with this information once it has been collected?

Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites (business site) | si-blog (personal site with affiliate links)

I am trying to setup a members page where the information they collect will be added on the site so other people can see. Currently I ask them to send me an email with their information in which I manually add a new html site everytime, but I think creating a page with fields would seem a bit more professional.

By the way, how do you add a submit button on dreamweaver? Do you know the command for it?