Set up question

Hi
I am a rookie and need help. I am an archivist and librarian with super low tech skills… My site is up and working but I have one little thing that i would like to change… just not sure how.

I am using wordpress and used the one click install. At the time of dreamhost registration I entered my site name… cityliterate.com

The registration prompted me to add a /xxxx so I added…

www.cityliterate.com/installfolder

Can I get rid of that /installfolder ? or just change it to some different verbage like /home… i didn’t realize it would show up and be necessary to find my site.

Thanks in advance any help.

andreag

There are a couple ways. You can move WP to it’s own folder or you can keep it in that folder, but have it run out of cityliterate.com

I would personally leave it in /installfolder, and use these directions to have to LOOK like it’s in the main folder: http://codex.wordpress.org/Giving_WordPress_Its_Own_Directory#Using_a_pre-existing_subdirectory_install

But I like having WP in it’s own folder, I’m weird like that :wink: If you want to move it entirely, the directions are similar: http://codex.wordpress.org/Moving_WordPress#When_Your_Domain_Name_or_URLs_Change

some options:
take a wp backup from the control panel and reinstall the server without subdir
[NOTE: when i did this in 2010 none of the media files were included and had to be manually re added. may be an easy way to do that on command line, or just maybe in wp admin page but i dont know it]
there are less drastic ways im sure

remap installfolder to some other name or empty, if it will let you (ive used the remap once or twice but dont remember all details of how it works. if it gets messed up you can delete the redirects and try again in panel)