Seeking recommendation for secure document dist

apps

Hi there, I’m fairly new to Dreamhost and am a satisfied customer. I have a question I’m hoping to get some help with.

I have a need to set up a few web sites that will allow people to log in and access a collection of static documents (mostly PDF files), and do so securely. Sort of like logging in to get a bank statement, and have access to get old ones too. This all has to be highly secure since the information in the documents is sensitive.

Dreamhost provides secure hosting with https certificates, which is helpful. But I need a little more than that, for instance I’d like to offer password recovery to users by allowing them to register an e-mail address with their account and have a temporary password e-mailed to them if they forget their assigned password. Also I’d like some help in creating the HTML pages that the user sees to access their documents. Doesn’t have to be a full blown app, but something more than me hacking HTML.

I assume that there must be some packages out there like this, call it “document publishing” or “document sharing” or what have you, but I haven’t been able to find anything. Any suggestions welcome.

T

One possible solution you could look into is using a document sharing plugin with a content management system. I know that there are several to choose from with Joomla!.

I know a full-blown content management system might be overkill, but it does provide a nice front page and news and updates that you might use. As a bonus, it will do all the user management that you require.

A search will provide various ways of SSL’izing your Joomla! site.

Free unique IP and $67 off with promo code [color=#CC0000]FLENSFREEIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]FLENS97[/color] for $97 off. Click here for more options