Securing directory

I didn’t have this issue on my prior webhost, so I can’t remember how I used to fix it, but what’s the best way to secure the contents of a directory so no one can just put in www.mydomain/stuff/ and see a list of everything in that path?

Thanks.

Using Htaccess you can password protect a direcotry

Panel> Goodies > htaccess

is this what you want?

-Matttail

A .htaccess file (maybe you already have one?) in the directory you want to hide the list from with this line in it:

Options -indexes

should do the trick. It doesn’t password protect, just keeps the files from being listed.

~Chell

–>>A .htaccess file (maybe you already have one?) in the directory you want to hide the list from with this line in it: Options –indexes<<–
unfortunately, i am a complete idiot. i have read the instructions that say “add the following line in your .htaccess file to disable a directory’s contents from being shown: Options –Indexes” however, i am VERY new to all this and don’t know what they mean by “directory”.
i want to prevent people from pulling up the list of all my images. i’m using front page to help me with the whole web site set up, and i write a lot of html, but when the instructions say “directory” do they mean the file folder labeled “images” where i keep all my images? if so, when they say “add a file” do they mean a blank web page?
i feel like an idiot asking what appear to be such simple questions, but my giant front page book isn’t any help and i just don’t know what to do.

Yes.

No, they mean if you do not have an existing .htaccess file, create one using a text editor (e.g. Notepad, NOT FrontPage). The file needs to be named “.htaccess” --without the quotation marks. The dot in the file name, .htaccess, must be retained, it is not a typo.

All the best,
marsbar

hello, marsbar

thank you so much for your reply. hopefully, you will not mind if i ask a few more questions.