Same problem, different day

does anyone know if sympatico blocks port 25?
because i can’t send emails. i tried switching the outgoing server to the same one as our main identity and changing the port and it still doesn’t work.

i know i’m supposed to “contact someone” but i don’t know what number i’m calling @_@ any ideas?

bewitchingchild.com

Can’t answer about sympatico, however you can send mail using DreamHost servers using port 587 instead of 25. Works like a charm and my ISP blocks port 25.

:cool: Perl / MySQL / HTML+CSS

i tried it again doing what you said, i could send but not recieve! T-T

should i write step-by-step instructions of how i’m setting it up to identify the problem better? :\

bewitchingchild.com

Well I am using Mozilla Mail and News (Mozilla 1.6a) on WinXP using IMAP with no problems. I read on your site your using Outlook Express - I have no experience with that client and have even uninstalled it. You need to check to make sure the Server Ports are set to 587 for outgoing. The incoming port should be 143 for IMAP or 110 for POP3. The server names should be the same and should not be IP addresses and SAP, TLS and/or SSL should be disabled.

:cool: Perl / MySQL / HTML CSS

okay here’s my step by step…

1. open outlook express (by default, going to my parents email)
  2. send and recieve a test email to make sure it’s working… check.
  3. File > Identities > Add new Identity
  4. Name: Vicky
  5. Switch to Vicky, remain connected to the internet
  6. Display Name: Missie Yohko
  7. email address: (this is an existing email i had set up when i registered with Dreamhost) yohko@bewitchingchild.com
  8. Incoming: Pop3 mail.bewitchingchild.com
  9. Outgoing: mail.bewitchingchild.com
  10. enter account name and password, check remember password, SPA NOT CHECKED
  11. Click Finish
  12. Tools > Accounts > mail.bewitchingchild.com Properties > Servers Tab
  13. My Server requires authentication