Running an Executable via Shell

I downloaded khtml2png (http://khtml2png.sourceforge.net/), a linux program for taking screenshots of websites. I downloaded the static version and uploaded it to my webspace. I set the program to be executable (chmod +x khtml2png), but every time I try to run it (./khtml2png http://www.microsoft.com ms.png) I get the error “Segmentation Fault”.

I’m only a beginner with Linux, so I’m not sure what to try from here. I don’t know if I have to put the binary in a special directory or if I have to get any special permission from Dreamhost to run executables within my shell account.

Maybe someone could shed some light on this for me? :slight_smile:

khtml2png requires the KDE libraries (kdelibs). KDE is a *nix desktop environment so you probably won’t find it installed on a server (and it’s definitely not installed on the DH server my account is on). Something like this is really meant to be installed on a desktop system.

For something like this, you’re much better off installing something on your own system. I can personally recommend Paparazzi for OS X and I’m sure someone here can offer a similar suggestion for Windows.

If you want useful replies, ask smart questions.

There’s a program called Webshot for Windows alright. I have managed to setup webshot on a Windows server before to automatically create screenshots of websites. I would be surprised if it wasn’t possible to do with khtml2png. It does say on the khtml2png site:

So, really, I should be able to use the pre-compiled version on the command line as it doesn’t have any dependencies, right? Maybe I’m not making any sense? :stuck_out_tongue: