Remote connection to MySQL

Hi, I wonder if you can suggest something for the following.

I am unsuccesfully trying to access a MySQL database that I have under Dreamhost from a website located under another provider. I have never in my life tried this before, so I am not sure if I am doing something wrong, or not doing something that I should. I am not a total novice to the internet, but not a web guru, either. In other words, I can maintain a website, do the basic PHP and MySQL stuff, and if I don’t know how to do something I can usually figure it out by reading the relevant documentation, help files and forums on the net. This time, however, I have read everything I can find and spent more time than I have, and now must accept defeat.

So far, I have done the following:

1. I have tested and made sure that the database connection works when accessed from my website that is under Dreamhost.

2. I have modified the database’s user’s details from Dreamhost’s panel so that the IP list of allowed hosts connecting to the database includes my other webhost. In fact, it currently for the sake of testing stands as “%” (which I understand allows everyone to connect?) just so that I know the problem should not be there.

3. I have tried running the php script that works under Dreamhost on my other web host, but instead of succesfully connecting, I get the error “Lost connection to MySQL server during query” after quite some waiting. The script is this:

<?php $link = mysql_connect('MYDATABASE.MYDOMAIN.EXTENSION', 'USERNAME', 'PASSWORD'); if (!$link) { die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error()); } echo 'Connected successfully'; mysql_close($link); ?>
  1. I have also tried the above script by giving it information about which port to connect to, and using the default 3306. Again, it works under Dreamhost, but not under my other web host.