Register_globals off in PHP 4 (joomla)

apps

Hello there,

My apologies for posting what is probably a redundant question, but is there an Idiot’s Guide to doing a custom php.ini file? The most recent upgrade of Joomla recommends that register_globals be switched off. I’ve tried modifying my .htaccess file as suggested on the joomla forums, but it doesn’t seem to work on Dreamhost. Unfortunately I have ZERO experience with UNIX. Is there any chance I can do this without seriously messing up my site?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks.

Switch to using PHP5. register_globals is disabled by default, and Joomla should work just fine.

Simon Jessey | Keystone Websites
Save $97 on yearly plans with promo code [color=#CC0000]SCJESSEY97[/color]

Thanks for your reply. If I switch to PHP5 does this mean I have to re-install Joomla?

I’m afraid I don’t know the answer to that. You could always set up a subdomain to test this in advance.

Simon Jessey | Keystone Websites
Save $97 on yearly plans with promo code [color=#CC0000]SCJESSEY97[/color]

Nope! Joomla! works fine with PHP5. :slight_smile:

You might want to understand, however, that Joomla! will also “complain” about one of the settings in DH’s PHP5. The issue there is “magic_quotes”,

None of this is really as relevant as the Joomla! developers (understandably, given the programming abilities of many/most Joomla! users) might have you believe; they have taken the route of being very pro-active regarding security and now choose to issue warnings if there is even the remotest possibility of an exploitable “hole” in a poorly coded component.

The “core” Joomla! is very robust, and neither the register_globals or magic_quotes issue is a real issue with that code - the problem is in the plethora of add-ons and components available and their greatly differing quality and attention to secure coding.

To me, the “register_globals” being on is the greater problem. My tests have shown that: