Redirecting to index.php

design

I have a website that I am developing for a friend off Dreamhost. She had someone do some of the work and then he couldnt finish it off due to some commitments.
Now, I am brand new at php and am dabbling in it but I have a question.

The website is http://rsavia.com and it defaults to the index.php but does not show me the links on the right menu that I would see off http://rsavia.com/index.php
I am in the process of going through some php tutorials but any suggestions would be welcome.

Also, how do I check whether the defaults for the website have index.php included alongwith the index.html and index.htm and all that stuff. I thought dreamhost panel would show that. Thanks for your replies

I’m mightily confused by what I’m seeing. The two pages differ by just a line of code. If one is index.php, what is the other one?

si-blog | Keystone Websites
Save $97 on yearly plans with promo code [color=#CC0000]SCJESSEY97[/color]

If you have more than one index page in a directory, the html/htm pages would take priority over the php page.
If you feel you may need the html pages at a later date, store them on your computer, and keep just the php page as the index for that directory.
Silk

My website

The weird thing is that I cannot seem to find an alternative page in the OP’s web root. I’ve tried all the various weirdo combinations of index/default/home.html/htm/shtml/php4/php5 etc., and I cannot find one.

I actually have only index.php in there.
No other index.*** files…
Nothing with the default or whatever else…
i used to have an index.html but I took it out so that it would default to the php page…

That’s another reason that I wanted to check the setting for what files would be the default home page for the domain. I know I saw the setting somewhere when I signed up with Dreamhost but just cant recollect where…

Maybe you saw this DH Wiki page, which contain, in part: