Recommend Good Books

apps

Hi - I hope this is a good forum to put this question.

I have been doing web design previously with MS Front Page. I have some understanding of html and java script. I am now trying to install a phpbb forum and Word Press blogs. I wondered if anyone could suggest some good books that would help get me started in understanding php and MySLQ - particularly in how it relates to phpBB and Word Press - as well as Dreamhost.

I am pretty good at trying to stumble through and get the job done - but I would prefer to understand what I am doing and why. Looking at reviews on Amazon.com - I am totally unsure which books would be appropriate and good to start with. I am a beginner - but very goal oriented.

Thanks in advance for any help. And I am always open to any hearing of any web sites people have found help also.

Feathered Wonders

To be honest, your best bet would be to get yourself a more generic grounding in PHP and MySQL, but you really should have a thorough understanding of HTML first. With that in mind, let me recommend that you buy these books:

1. Teach Yourself Web Publishing with HTML and XHTML in 21 Days
  2. Teach Yourself PHP in 24 Hours

The former will introduce you to CSS, along with an excellent start in XHTML. The latter will give you a basic understanding of MySQL in addition to the PHP.

Simon Jessey
Keystone Websites | si-blog

I highly recommend:

PHP and MySQL Web Development, by Luke Welling and Laura Thomson
ISBN: 0-672-32525-X

MacManX.com
I don’t work here. I’m just your typical support forum volunteer.

I personally haven’t read it myself, but it may be worth checking out Learning PHP 5 by O’Reilly & Associates:

I haven’t read this one, as I mentioned, but O’Reilly has such consistently well-written and edited books that it’s worth checking out.