Really frustrating FTP issue - giving access to two users

Here’s my situation: I have all of my domains under the same ftp account (mine) and until now that’s been fine. Now, I need someone to be able to have ftp access to one of my websites (the root directory of the website), but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to do this without removing my FTP access!!!

I don’t want to give them my account username and password because it has shell access and access to all of my sites. Neither to I want to “move” the domain under their FTP account, because I still need access!

Can anyone help? I’m really frustrated because this should be something that’s really simple (and was, on my previous host…).

Thanks.

I don’t know if I can do that; I have very little experience with SSH.

Is there really no easy way to give a new FTP user access to a website directory? If not, that’s just plain stupid! (no offense… but it is.)

there really is not a good way to do what you are looking for on dreamhost.

Arrg!

I don’t know what to do.

honestly i don’t see why you don’t just put the domain name under a new user and just give this other person the new username and password. its not like you can’t ftp into the account with the new username and password. i don’t get what the big deal is.

Well, I’m not sure what the affects of doing that will be. Would I have to copy all of the sites’ files over to the new FPT user’s folder? How would it affect shell access? I don’t want anyone else to have shell access, but I need it (for doing a few simple things…). Would it affect cron jobs that are scheduled? Etc…

The “big deal” is that (if I remember correctly) other hosts I’ve used have made this a simple process - as it should be. A few clicks to add a new user, specify where they have access, done.

those other hosts probably assign users under each domain and not the other way around like DH does.