Re-Add User


#1

Playing around with Unix permissions I thoroughly messed up one of my user accounts. So I figured I would delete the user and add them back in again. Deleted the user via the Web Panel, waited an hour or so, and tried re-adding the user. I got an error when trying to create the user saying that the username exists. The user isn’t listed, their home folder is gone, and I can’t log into the shell as the user so it seems to be gone. However, I can’t add the account back in. Any ideas if I’ll be able to add the user again with the same name?
Thanks,
Bryan


#2

You should be able to re-add it, after some (unknown) amount of time has passed. DreamHost doesn’t actually “delete” the users immediately.

You can contact support and ask them to try to “help it along” a little if you are in a hurry.

–rlparker