Rails command not working

Hi,
I am new to DreamHost but have been working with Ruby on Rails a lot in the past. I’ve been following the tutorials at DreamHost wiki and railshosting.org. Both suggest to log on via FTP (which I did) and then run the command “rails MyApp” on the command line. However, when I do that I get “Invalid command”. What am I doing wrong? Rails is pre-installed on the server, right?

FTP is only for file transfer. Log in using an SSH client (like Putty) and then it will get much more interesting.

Looks like it’s time to update the wiki. Can you show us the link you were looking at?

Wholly

Hm, I am using a bash shell on my Macintosh and I’ve uploaded other websites before this way. Is there a huge difference between Putty and a bash shell?

The tutorial I was following is this one: http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/Ruby_on_Rails (which seems pretty up to date to me)

Another good one is this: http://www.railshosting.org/#dreamhost

They both recommend running the “rails myApp” command, but so far I haven’t found a way to do so… :frowning:

You can use the bash shell on your Mac, but do not log-in to your DreamHost server using FTP, instead log-in using SSH, this will allow you to run Shell commands on the DreamHost server.

http://www.wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/SSH#SSH_Client_Software

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost hosting using promo code [color=#CC0000]SAVEMONEY[/color] ( Click for promo code details )

And by default the shell you’ll be using on your dreamhost server is …

bash!

So you should be in a happy place.

I don’t know of a mac ssh client (although I’d expect there is a default one you can use from the bash shell called ‘ssh’)

Think of SSH as making a connection to the other machine and running programs there.

Wholly