Questions about getting started and upgrading

[hr]
I’m interested in putting my site up on DreamHost and would appreciate it if some existing users could answer some questions for me.

I know it’s long, but I tried to be as detailed as possible to (hopefully) get the best answers possible.

I would like to start out on the Shared hosting and move to a VPS later on if necessary.
I would like to spend as little money as possible as I am funding this project out of my own pocket and new websites won’t exactly generate enough revenue to fund themselves initially.
I have some experience with shared hosting with other companies, but I’m a total noob when it comes to everything else.

[hr]
Questions about starting out with shared hosting:
When I open an account, I plan to start with 3 Wordpress sites, each running no more than 4 plugins, Including WP Super Cache.
One of the sites will host downloadable content and possibly also get a forum at a later stage.
The sites will probably start out with less than 100 hits per month, but the site hosting my downloads may rapidly grow and need to serve over 1000 users per day (possibly as many as 100 at a time) and transfer over 100GB per day. Given that I’ll be caching everything, it should all be served as static content until I add a forum later on.
My second site may host an image gallery that will need to serve about 50 users per day.

1. How much traffic can the shared servers handle?
I know this is difficult to answer as it is site dependent, but it would be great if people who have run WordPress on shared hosting could give me an approximate figure.
Do you think the shared servers will be able to cope with the usage outlined above, or will I need to upgrade before I get that many visitors?

2. Will I need to upgrade when I add the forum?
I’m suspecting that I will, given that forums rely heavily on the database.

3. What’s the policy on mass-mailing?
I may want to make subscriber mailing lists.