Questions about E-mail Hosting

Back in '99 I set up e-mail accounts for every member of my family under a common domain name using, what was then, a reasonable priced hosting company. Everything worked flawlessly the entire time, and though their prices never came down with the rest of the industry, they weren’t outrageous, either.

Unfortunately, they’re transitioning to a new server in the next few weeks which will require me to recreate my family member’s e-mail accounts. I’ll also have to recreate all of the hundreds of aliases I use. Since I’m going to have to reconfigure everything anyway, I thought now might be a good time to switch hosting companies, but before I do, I want to make sure it can be done with the least amount of hassle.

I’ve a small family without out a strong procreation gene, so most of the users are over the age of 65. I really don’t want to have to provide tech support for OSes and mail clients that I have no experience with. In addition, while I consider myself extremely computer literate, I really don’t have a workable understanding of how the tubes on the interwebs work.*

So, with that lengthy preface out of the way, what I need from a new e-mail provider (and I do mean just e-mail. I’ve no need at this point to host a website), is a service that uses the same protocols for sending and receiving messages as my current host so that as soon as the domain resolves to the new host, my family’s e-mail clients seamlessly check the new mailboxes without having to change any preferences. Currently, the settings are as follows:

Incoming Mail Server: mail.doman.com
User Name: name@domain.com (or name%domain.com)
Password: •••••••••

Outgoing Mail Server: mail.domain.com
Authentication: Password

Also, I’ve a couple other administration-type questions:

1. Is there any way to mass-create aliases?
  2. How large can each individual mail box be?
  3. Step-by-step, what would I have to do to transfer my domain to Dreamhost?