Question before I sign up

I’m fairly new to having my own domain, and the only reason I have it is for a Coppermine Photo Gallery. I’m currently hosted with Assertive Host, but I don’t like it very much so a friend suggested DreamHost. I guess my question is, does anyone know if it’s possible to transfer my domain without losing my gallery and having to re-upload everything? I have over 1,000 pictures, and if I’m going to lose them all I just might as well quit all together. I’ve never transferred it before, so I don’t really know how it works. Anyway, if anyone has any advice, it would be much appreciated! thanks! :slight_smile:
-Lynn

short answer is no. If you move your domain to another server you will have to re-upload all those images, or copy them through the web.

You could make a back-up of your Coppermine gallery, yourimages.tar.zip, that would save time.

darn…that’s what I was afraid of. thanks though:)

If you’re up for a bit of learning it wouldn’t be to hard to transfer your files, or an archive directly between hosts. That way instead of having to wait on your connection speed, your could make use of the super high speed connections your hosts have. You’d need to log into shell - similiar to a windows command prompt (using a program like putty) and then issue some commands to pull the files over.

You can do the same thing for a mysql database if you want.

If you are interested let me know and I’ll give through directions.

-Matttail

I would like to know how to transfer my files if it’s not too hard…
how would I have an archive between the hosts? would I have to keep both of the hosts as well? I am interested, just confused. lol As I said, I dont know too much about it… just enough to be dangerous lol

Rather than start a new thread, I’m posting here as this discussion pertains to my situation as well.

I currently have 5 domains registered and hosted with one hosting company, and 1 domain registered and hosted with another.