Question about what is allowed

I run a small website for my band members to access lyrics and tabs for the songs we play. I would like to implement a way of listening to the songs. Am I allowed to let my members download the mp3’s?

Thanks a lot!

Sure. If the MP3s are music you wrote and recorded, you can do anything you want with them. Dreamhost will obviously not allow you to offer music you do not have permission to redistribute, but this obviously doesn’t apply if it’s your own music.

If you want useful replies, ask smart questions.

They will mostly be songs that we have not written.

Unless you have “rights” to distribute the mp3s, you’d be risking trouble if the wrong people find out. That said, practically speaking, if nobody blabs and gives out the URL, the wrong people probably won’t notice. It’s your conscience though. :slight_smile:

What’s the name of the band? I hear R1AA pays bounties. :slight_smile:

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer. This is not advice, and my post is worth what you paid me to see it. :slight_smile:

Do you have to pay any fees for performing the songs?

They recently hired more support help.
DreamHost Customers wiki And Forum

We are only a very small band, like the sort of thing you would expect from a few teenagers who love playing music. There will only be 5 people who have access to the mp3’s (password protected), and it’s probable that they will already own the songs anyway. I’m just asking so I don’t get my account terminated for breach of the TOS.

Are these covers of other people’s songs that your band is actually playing, and not the songs as recorded by the original artists? If so you’re in really good shape. It’s the recorded material and making money off of merchandise that isn’t licensed to you that causes problems. Any fans of Metallica know full well how successful Lars Ulrich has been in making their licensed stuff unavailable for free download.