Question about setting up a cronjob

Hi DH-Community,

i am running a site at dreamhost where I provide data out of my database. I have different tables (players, teams, clubs, leagues, and so on). Those data are related to each other (a player belongs to one or more teams, a team belongs to a club and plays in a certain league, …).

Once a day I get a file with new players. This file only contains the playernumber, the name and the teamnumber. This are enough information to find out the relations to league and club with a little script.

My problem is, that i want to use a cronjob to run this script once a day. I can see the place, where i can create a new cronjob in my panel. But I did not know, what to enter. So I read all related posts in this forum. But as i am a absolute newbie to shell and my native language is not english, i am more confused than before.

I have also seen the information in the wiki, but my confusion level is already to high… :frowning:

Thats what I did so far:

• Creating an shell user
  • Using putty to make the bin directory and entering the four command lines mentioned in the wiki.

Maybe there is somebody, that can explain me what to do and how to do it. I really would appreciate some help.

Thanks a lot in advance.
Mike

PS: forgot to mention that the script is a PHP-file.
PPS: not sure, if i have to do the shell stuff with putte and creating it in the panel or if those are two different ways for the same thing. I now entered http://www.tischtennisverein.info/cronjobscript.php in the panel, but i think this is not correct!?

There was a recent post on running a PHP cron job:
http://discussion.dreamhost.com/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=forum_troubleshooting&Number=91681&page=1&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=31&part=

Fortunately, using the Panel to set up a cron job is pretty straight forward. The catch is that since it’s a PHP script, your cronjob needs to follow the syntax in the post above. It should be something like: