Q's from a complete rook

I’m looking to start a website and am considering DreamHost.

I know nothing about setting up a site, and am not a programmer.

I use Windows, and want to start with a discussion board which I anticipate having very light traffic initially. I will be learning as I go and plan to eventually add things like daily informational updates, photo and possibly video galleries, databases, etc.

Questions:

Is DreamHost a good choice for a complete newb like me who uses Windows?

For my discussion boards, does DreamHost have a product I can utilize, or will I need to look for something elsewhere?

Does DreamHost have decent tools that would allow someone like me to get a basic site up and running?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

You can definitely get going with phpBB with no programming experience at all. You might have to read the instructions, but it’s all pretty easy and straightforward.

One-click install, add some boards, make some decisions about people signing up, etc, and you’re off!

Free unique IP and $67 off with promo code [color=#CC0000]FLENSFREEIP67[/color] or use [color=#CC0000]FLENS97[/color] for $97 off. Click here for more options

Oops, I see that I should stop and read the manual sometimes too… :slight_smile:

So phpBB or SMF will provide a discussion board. A lot of sites get along with just that. They set up a news forum where the admins post news and such, allow photo uploads and such. I don’t see many databases implemented on top of forums, but certainly it would be straightforward to link to other software providing that functionality.

An alternative is a more integrated Content Management System like Joomla! The general pattern of Joomla! use is that you have a front page that provides news and then link to other areas that provide a forum, photo galleries, etc.