Putting a database online

Hi - I am new to DreamHost and have a question about a database I have that I would like to put online. It’s for a project I started some years ago called Brandywine Soldiers, an attempt to make a list of all the soldiers who fought at the Battle of Brandywine (Rev. War 1777). The database is in Microsoft Access and right now I export the records and stick them on my website. I can’t control what the records look like as they are exported and they are not pretty. Plus it’s too much work. I would like to put the database online somehow and have users be able to search it and add their own soldiers themselves instead of sending me an email and having me add them. How should I get this database online? Is a wiki a good idea for this? You can see the records at http://www.karenfurst.com/brandywinesoldiers/index.htm. Thanks for any guidance you can give on this matter. - Karen Furst

Are you trying to do this in DH? I don’t thinkk DH supports Access. They support MySQL because they are using non-window based system.

Save [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] (max discount) on dreamhost by using promo code: [color=#CC0000]97CRAZY[/color].

Yes, I am trying to do this in DH. I am willing to switch to MySql. In fact, I went to the one click installer area and installed a database. Unfortunately, I have no idea what to do next. Are there tutorials on this subject? I don’t know how to access the database or add fields. Thanks for the help. Karen

I’m not sure what you have done :stuck_out_tongue: You can choose to create database when you try to install something in on-click installs. But that is not the right way to manage your database servers.

You should create database server in “Goodies” -> “Manage MySQL”. Look at the field “Database name” and “Hostname”. You can create new hostname for multiple databases. You can also store all the databases into the same hostname. Each hostname requires at leat one user to control it.

Cheers!