Problems with images/file and dir creation

software development

I’m new to DreamHost and have a web site set up to allow users to upload images and store them to be viewed later.

I currently create a directory from my PHP scripts to put the images for a user in, then put their images in that directory. However, it doesn’t look like I can do that on DreamHost. I have the site working locally and it used to work on my old hosting service. Now the directories just don’t appear.

I’ve tried changing file permissions as well, with no success.

If there’s a way to do this on DreamHost, please let me know.

Also, the bigger issue might be that I have a flawed approach to storing and displaying uploaded files. If there’s a better approach, please let me know. I could put the image data in a database entry, but how do I display it after, especially if I can’t move the data to a file?

Thanks!

Did you develop the PHP scripts yourself?

Are you getting any error messages?

Are you attempting to create the directories in a different home directory than the CGI user?

Is PHP running as CGI or a module?

I don’t have any problems doing this with Perl. But then again Perl is not executed by a wrapper that adds additional security restrictions.

:cool: [color=#6600CC]Atropos[/color] | openvein.org

[quote] Did you develop the PHP scripts yourself?

Are you getting any error messages?

Are you attempting to create the directories in a different home directory than the CGI user?

Is PHP running as CGI or a module?

I don’t have any problems doing this with Perl. But then again Perl is not executed by a wrapper that adds additional security restrictions. [/quote]

I developed the scripts myself. I had them tested and running on another hosting service as well as my local machine.

I did get error messages that the file couldn’t be written to the directory. The directory creation didn’t seem to cause an error message.