Problems with building Subversion

apps

Hello,
I’m a complete SVN beginner, but I intend to use it (with file:// repository URLs, i.e. no server) on alexander.dreamhost.com.

I successfully compiled subversion-1.2.1 on alexander.dreamhost.com with the options --without-berkeley-db --with-zlib --with-ssl and then executed ‘make fsfscheck’. All the tests passed, except the following:

FAIL: diff_tests.py 15: repos-repos diff on item deleted from HEAD
FAIL: diff_tests.py 19: diff between two file URLs (issue #1311)
FAIL: diff_tests.py 23: diff a file within a renamed directory
FAIL: diff_tests.py 24: diff a prop change on a dir named explicitly
FAIL: diff_tests.py 25: ensure that diff won’t show keywords
FAIL: diff_tests.py 26: show diffs for binary files with --force
FAIL: externals_tests.py 3: update to lose an external module
FAIL: externals_tests.py 4: update change to an unmodified external module
FAIL: externals_tests.py 5: update changes to a modified external module
FAIL: externals_tests.py 6: update changes under an external module
FAIL: externals_tests.py 7: commit and update additional externals
FAIL: merge_tests.py 1: performing a merge, with mixed results
FAIL: merge_tests.py 7: merge on deleted directory in target
FAIL: merge_tests.py 9: merge operations using PREV revision

I’m not sure where to go from here: some of these seem like fairly serious failures–but I know very little of subversion so far, I’m reading the red-bean book and learning with my own Windows machine. I have posted the config.{log,nice,status} from my build are at http://lotbiniere.org/subversion along with the full tests.log

Can anyone give me any ideas on what might be wrong and how to diagnose it correctly? Has anyone compiled Subversion on Dreamhost and had it pass ALL the tests?

(I’ve also posted on users@subversion.tigris.org; if I get any replies there, I’ll update this forum)

Insert Real Name
insertrealname AT DELETEyahoo.ca