Problems / Status

I am considering DH for hosting several domains. The problems they have been having since July are not encouraging. Anyone who has been here for a while - care to give me some thought???
As for status, I suggest DH to look at HIWAAY.NET. Granted they are an ISP, as well as a hosting company. Their automated status screens could be an inspiration to hosting companies such as DH.

I don’t use any external monitoring service, but the service works pretty well.

There is a “manual” status page here :
http://www.dreamhoststatus.com/
Which is mainly used for maintenance.

For the automated status in panel :
"We have decided to decommissi n the system status page until we are able to make it more accurately reflect actual system uptimes! Our apologies. "

Get [color=#CC0000]$97[/color] Off with promo code :[color=#6600CC]97USD[/color] :cool: use “moua” as referrer

Well. I’ve been hosting sites at Dreamhost since mid-1998, so I guess that qualifies as “a while” :wink: .

My experience with Dreamhost has been overwhelmingly positive. That is not to say that there have not been problems, and this past summer there were some pretty rough stretches. I think it is important to keep a sense of perspective, however, and that is sometimes hard to do when reviewing the status pages and forum posts.

Consider that, in many instances, negative forum posts are the result of normal human frustration, and as such, many are not very objective. A user may have hosted here for a long period of time without ever posting on the forum or making a comment on one of the Dreamhost blogs until, one day, his site doesn’t work right, he can’t get a “quick enough” tech support response, and he becomes frustrated enough to post. Suddenly, in this poster’s opinion, Dreamhost service is “terrible” and so on and so forth.