Potential Buy

I am currently looking for a new webhost to start my own website (probably for the video gaming community, but also for hosting of my own personal things)

I’m just curious as to how good dreamhost is. I’ve read some online reviews that say there is bad downtime, but has that been dealt with and/or was it actually that bad to begin with?

Also, I’ve seen the promotional codes and I’m just curious if those actually work. $97 off of a $190 plan? (the lowest one for 2 years) That seems kind of generous.

Another thing - are there any preinstalled scripts with DreamHost? Other companies such as HostRocket have a ton of preinstalled ones ( http://www.hostrocket.com/scripts.html ) and I’m curious as to if DreamHost has something similar.

I’m a novice to running a site (I’ve had one for a year under GoDaddy, but I haven’t had much use of it), so things being simple would be a plus.

DreamHost definitely seems like a good buy, but I just want some advice to how good of a buy and if there is anything better.

Thanks in advance. :smiley:

All hosts have their problems, but DH is pretty hard to beat for the price.

The promo codes are real. You can get your first year of the L1 plan for a little over $20.

One Click Installs.

That’s the wiki article about the one click install feature. There’s a lot of other info in the wiki, so have a look around.

:stuck_out_tongue: Save up to $96 at Dreamhost with ALMOST97 promo code (I get $1).
Or save $97 with THEFULL97.

There are two additional things that you might find compelling:

1. I find the panel to be easier to use than the cPanel that you see a lot of other hosts use. I have to admit that despite having a computer science degree and working for 20 years in technology, I find the directory setup at some other hosts kind of confusing.