Posting images-Photos not showing up

Photos not showing up

Okay its probably an idiot problem, but I am new at this. I just posted my first site (5 pages) via FTP. However, only half of my images show up. When I was working on them in the IE browser all the images are there. Right now I have all my images in a folder under my domain or home name. Any suggestions?

This would be a lot easier to answer, if you post a link to your new website.

Without viewing the page, my guess would be inconsistent use of capital letters or/and spaces in the filename.

Unix servers treat capital letters and lower-case letters as two different letters, while Windows systems treat them as synonyms. Maybe this is your problem?

[color=#000000]DreamHost Promo Code[/color]: [color=#CC0000]Save $50[/color] with the promo code DREAMTEAM

I tried going back and taking out all the spaces in the image file names and still nothing.

The website is:
www.manchestermonumentworks.com

-Thanks

right, looks like the error lies with spaces in your images. Linux doesn’t like file names with spaces. What you’ll need to do is rename your image files so they all_one_word, re-upload the images. And update your webpage to reflect the new image names.

One other thing I noticed is that you have some of your images linked to a folder called “Photos” becuase the linux enviroment is caSeSensitiVe, you’ll want to make sure that the folder is actually capatilazed on your server.

Hope this helps

-Matttail

Actually its HTML and URLs that doen’t like spaces in filenames and they need to be escaped. Spaces are used as attribute delimiters in HTML, and URLs cannot contain unescpaed whitespace either.

When I checked he had it spelled correctly. When someone says images show up in Internet Explorer, they are problably using Windows. And on that platform, \ and / are both directory separators in path names. He needs to change “Photos\tree button copy.jpg” to “Photos/tree%20button%20copy.jpg”