Possible new user

A friend of mine showed me Dream Host and I like what I see. I have 4 Web sites (very small) created in Kompozer and hosted by Web.com and GoDaddy (2 each). What I would like to do is move all 4 sites to DreamHost, and possibly the domains as well. My questions are:

1. Can I use the 2-week trial to create a new site in Joomla while leaving my current site up with Web.com until it is finished? I have heard I can and I have heard I cannot. I would like to do this and then close out my accounts Web.com.

2. Is creating custom sites in Joomla easy with templates and the one-click install? I am not a Web designer by any stretch of the imagination, but I really like the extensions available for Joomla.

3. If I also move my domain names to DH, do they have an easy to use control panel? GoDaddy’s is very powerful, but not necessarily that intuitive to get around.

Thanks in advance for the help.

–Hank

1. Yes. These two articles in the wiki should be helpful to you.
    http://wiki.dreamhost.com/DNS_-Viewing_site_before_DNS_change
    http://wiki.dreamhost.com/DNS
    -_Accessing_your_Database_before_DNS_change

2. Well I think its easy but my easy and your easy might be different. I have years of experience with various content management systems and their template systems so ease of use from one to the other is about the same to me. Also I would not use the DH one-click install. There have been various threads on here about it. The DH one-click is 1.5.x and I do believe Joomla is up to 1.7.x. You should get the most current version and do it yourself vs using the one-click imo.

3. DH control panel is not like cPanel but I think its pretty easy to navigate around once you get use to it. I like it better than cPanel anyway.