Please recommend a plan for a beginner

Hello all,

I am a engineering contractor with approximately 20 “customers”. I would like to set up a website where each customer can “sign in” to 1) retreive CAD models I design for them and 2) send me CAD models they want me to work on. These files range from 5MB to 300MB and I probably transfer 5 files a week.

Could someone with experience recommend a hosting plan for this level of activity.

Additionally, since I’m a newbie at web design, I would also appreciate it very much if someone could point me to a tutorial on how to create these “accounts” for my customers to login to.

Thanks for all your help

Any of the shared hosting plans should be able to handle this level of traffic easily, so you might as well save yourself some money and go with the level 1 plan.

There are quite a few ways you can achieve what you want. One option would be to create a new machine user and sub-domain for each of your ‘customers’ and provide them with the FTP log-in details for these, they could then upload the files using an FTP client. There are a few ‘issues’ with doing it this way, mainly to do with file permissions, but they can be overcome with a little extra configuration.

Probably a better option would be to obtain a script to handle the uploads, this way your ‘customers’ would be able to upload their files using nothing more than their web browsers. There are many such scripts that are freely available and most will work fine here at DreamHost. A good place to look for such a script is…

http://www.hotscripts.com