Plan prices not the same in my account


#1

I notice the main hosting page lists a starter package for $2.59/month for 3 years. But when I go to add it and login, my shared hosting page says it’ll be three times that. Are these prices only for new sign ups? What kind of deals do us long-term customers get and how can I access them?


#2

Discounts for new accounts is common, not only for web hosting, but pretty much across every subscription type billing.

I agree it seems unfair to existing loyal customers, but it seems to have become standard somehow.


#3

As @keyplyr pointed out, there are steep discounts for new multi-month subscribers. For example, to get the same discount as a new 1-year Shared-Unlimited plan, I’d have to renew with a 5-year Shared-Unlimited plan.

However, I believe the month-by-month prices are identical for both new and old customers. @threebluestars, what service plan are you currently on? A Shared-Starter or Shared-Unlimited (mine say “Happy Hosting”, which is the old name for Shared-Unlimited)?


#4

I was previously on the Happy Hosting (Shared Unlimited), but dropped it about two years ago because I couldn’t afford the cost (I’m in Canada, so the exchange rate made one year close to $160-$170).

The options I see now are $10.95/month, $9.95 month for one year ($119.40), $8.95/month for 2 years ($214.80), $7.95/month for 3 years ($286.20) or $6.95/month for 5 years ($417.00).

No reward for being a long term customer is really sad. Makes it easy to decide to go elsewhere and just chase deals every few years.


#5

Ah, so you have an account, but no hosting service plan (or a closed service plan). This help article suggests contacting support to get setup with a different plan. To bad they don’t have a smoother process.

Adding a Starter Shared hosting plan if you have a registration only account

If your account was previously opened as a Domain Registration only account, no hosting plans are active.
Contact support if you wish to add a Starter Shared hosting plan


#6

This topic was automatically closed 30 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.