PHP4/PHP5 and htaccess

hello all,

I’m new to dh, and I have a question about setting up php5. My situation is that I need php4 on a majority of my domain (older Gallery 1.x app), except in a specific directory, where I need to use php5.

I know this is possible, as I’ve done it before on a slightly different system. So I must be missing some crucial step here on dh.

My understanding is that dh users have php4 and php5 already available at /usr/local/bin/php and /usr/local/php5/bin, respectively (per whereis).

I’ve also dropped a .htaccess file where I want to redirect for php5. Here’s what I have in the .htaccess:

Options +ExecCGI
AddHandler php5 .php
Action php5 /usr/local/php5/bin/php

Yet, when I attempt to run a test script (call to phpinfo()), the script fails.

Scripts above the .htaccess redirect appropriately call php4.

What am I missing here?

Thanks much.

Try this in your directory level .htaccess file;

for PHP5…

[color=#0000CC]AddHandler php5-cgi .php[/color]

for PHP4…

[color=#0000CC]AddHandler php-cgi .php[/color]

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

whatever you put in action will be using your DOCUMENT_ROOT as if it were root. so when you say /usr/local/php5/bin/php, it actually means /home/username/domain.tld/usr/local/php5/bin/php

Thanks. Right on the mark.

So why doesn’t the Action php5 /usr/local/php5/bin/php work, as I’ve pathed this to the correct binary?

Time to brush up on my htaccess scripting…

Thanks again.

Cool, I am glad that worked for you.

I think misterhaan was correct when he said the path you use for the action directive is referenced from DOCUMENT_ROOT, which will be /home/username/domain.tld/

Mark

Save [color=#CC0000]$50[/color] on DreamHost plans using [color=#CC0000]PRICESLASH[/color] promo code (Click for DreamHost promo code details)

[quote]