Php version

I’m not really a beginner, but then again I don’t mess with this backend stuff much. I’ve been told that my php version is not up to date and that this is something my server host should take care of. So, I guess my question is what do I do to get the updated version of php? I’ve done searches and haven’t found this topic here. I apologize if I’ve missed it somewhere.

thanks,
stef

DreamHost presently has two major versions of PHP installed by default: PHP 4.4.7 and PHP 5.2.3. You can choose in the Control Panel which version of PHP your domain(s) will use, and you can have different versions set for different domains within your account.

That said, if you want to “upgrade” to a different version than either of those, you can install your won version of PHP as described in the DH Wiki (though this is considered by many to be somewhat challenging).

DreamHost allows you to do this, but will not offer support of any kind for such custome installations, so if you choose to install your own PHP, you are pretty much on your own (except for whatever help you can get here,m or from other “non-DreamHost” folks).

All that said, what version are you currently running, and what version are you being told you should be running?

–rlparker

i’m using the 4.4.7 version and want the other version you mentioned. is the process of changing this dummy proof? lol. anyway, i’ll give it a shot and see what happens. thank you!

To switch the php version, you can go to DH panel --> Domains --> Manage Domains --> Edit. Simply click the drop down menu and save changes.

Save $97 (MAX Discount) with code: [color=#CC0000]97YES[/color] Sign Up NOW or More Codes Here

Actually, with the possible exception of some “old” scripts you might be running not liking PHP5 (such as relying on register_globals being set to on), updgrading your domain to use the “newer” PHP5 is very easy and painless.